Boating crimes carry heavy penalties in Savannah, GA
Boating is a very popular activity throughout coastal Georgia. But, there are numerous crimes in Savannah associated with boating laws and licenses that can take all the fun out of the activity. Boating crimes carry heavy penalties so it is important to be aware of the Georgia boating laws and how to avoid being charged with a criminal offense. Goad Law, LLC has extensive experience in Savannah with legal representation regarding boating laws and licenses. The laws surrounding boating in Georgia can be found here.
Any person born on or after January 1st, 1998 who wishes to drive a boat must complete a boating education course. The course can be completed online or in person. Some courses are free while others cost $29.99.
The Georgia Boat Safety Act prohibits anyone from boating under the influence. Similarly to DUI, a person may not operate a boat if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is over .08. If the driver is under the influence, they will be charged with boating under the influence. If the driver is under 21 years of age, the limit decreases to .02. Under Georgia law, simply by driving a boat on Georgia waters, you have given implied consent to being tested for alcohol or drugs if requested by officers. If you refuse the test, you could lose your license to drive a boat for up to one year.